• 234-09-2902304
  • info@ecowascounterterrorism.org

Officially known as the Republic of Niger, it is a landlocked country in West Africa, named after the Niger River. Niger is bordered by Libya to the northeast, Chad to the east, Nigeria and Benin to the south, Burkina Faso and Mali to the west, and Algeria to the northwest.

Summary statistics
Region Western Africa
Surface area (sq km) 1267000
Population (est., 000) 17138
Pop. density (per sq km) 12.1
Capital city Niamey
Capital city pop. (000) 1302
Currency West African CFA Franc (XOF)

Most Recent Incident:16th March 2016
Gunmen shot dead three policemen in a market in Dolbel near the border with Burkina Faso.